{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeenGathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes
Pages: 416
Published by Razorbill on December 9, 2014
Series: Falling Kingdoms #3
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Source: Bought Hardcover


In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

YA Review
My Thoughts

Gathering Darkness is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. The Falling Kingdoms series has been a beloved fantasy series for years now, and with the sixth book coming out this year now is the perfect time to get caught up. I read the first book, Falling Kingdoms years ago when it first came out, but then I never continued on with the series. I own the first five books and I have been meaning to continue on for years, but I never did. Now that the sixth book is out, I have decided that a binge read was in order. So I re-read book one and then continued on to book two, three and I am currently reading book four.

This is a series that must be read in order, which means that it is almost impossible to discuss plot points in Gathering Darkness without getting involved in tons of spoilers, so I will keep this review to some of the general things I am LOVING about the Falling Kingdoms series. And let me start with this…I freakin’ love these books! They are absolutely addictive. This series is turning out to be everything I love about fantasy series. So what exactly do I love about this series? Well, let me tell you.

First, I love the massive and complex world. Mytica is made up of multiple different kingdoms, each with their own rulers, laws and complex difficulties. From each of these kingdoms we meet very different characters that plot lines become intertwined. I love learning about all of the different kingdoms and the magic structure and the whole world in general. Morgan Rhodes has done a fantastic job creating an immense world that is immensely interesting and woven with all kinds of fascinating details. One of my very favorite parts of a fantasy is getting to envision a whole new world in your head. And Mytica is full of magic and politician intrigue and plenty of crazy twists and characters to keep any reader totally invested and riveted to the story.

Next, I love the characters. And there are a ton of characters. The books in the falling Kingdoms series are told from multiple perspectives and right from the very first book, I enjoyed that story telling method because we got to know so many people. Now, I will say- don’t get too attached to any one character because Morgan Rhodes can be brutal with who she kills off. There are lots of deaths in each book and some of the twists in Gathering Darkness left me completely speechless! (That ending tho, right?!) Cleo is a personal favorite of mine. I love watching her come into her own as the books progress. Most of the characters have had really impressive character growth as the stories get more and more intense.

Finally, the writing and the plot of Gathering Darkness was the best yet! I am being totally serious when I say that this series just keeps getting better and better as it goes on. Even at this moment, I am itching to finish my to-do list so that I can go back to reading Frozen Tides. The twists and turns keep getting bigger and more surprising and I cannot wait to see what is going to happen next in this series. It is quickly becoming one of my very favorites. There are tons of great characters, lots of romance (the various romances have had a lot of ups and downs for me, but I won’t get into details so I don’t spoil anyone) and a really intricate and awesome world and magic system. The Falling Kingdoms series is beyond excellent. If you are new to the series, I demand that you start reading right now so you can be ready for book six to release, and if you are an old fan, now is the perfect time for a re-read! Gathering Darkness and the series as a whole is one of my all time favorites!

Enter to win a copy of #GatheringDarkness by @MorganRhodesYA from @BookBriefs #FallingKingdoms #Giveaway @PenguinTeen Click To Tweet


To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a copy of Gathering Darkness (US only)

PSST! You can also get additional entries by commenting on my instagram post 🙂

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour: 

WEEK ONE (Book One: Falling Kingdoms and Two Book: Rebel Spring)

WEEK TWO (Book 3: Gathering Darkness)

January 15 – Glimpses of my Books – Cover Art and Author Gust Post – her inspiration for the character Magnus Damora?

WEEK THREE (Book 4: Frozen Tides)

January 25 – Ria Reads – Review

WEEK FOUR (Crystal Storm)

About Morgan Rhodes

Morgan Rhodes lives in Ontario, Canada. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess — the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, reality TV, and is an extremely picky, yet voracious reader of all kinds of books. Under another pen name, she’s a national bestselling author of many paranormal novels. Falling Kingdoms is her first high fantasy.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Michelle @ Book Briefs

2018-01-16 18:46:14


    Leave a reply "{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen"